Skip to content Skip to search
My Norwich

UK Parliamentary General Election - Thursday 12 December 2019

The deadline to register to vote and to apply for a new postal vote application for this election has passed.

At a general election you have one vote to choose a candidate to represent your constituency in the House of Commons.

There are two MPs with constituencies in Norwich:

  • Norwich North
  • Norwich South

Candidates for Norwich South have been published.

Norwich North constituency is shared with Broadland District Council. Find further details about the election, notices and candidates on the Broadland District Council website.

Timings for this election are tight so please be aware of the deadlines below.

Key dates

Deadline for receiving applications to register to vote (GOV.UK) Midnight on 26 November 2019
Deadline for receiving new postal vote applications and for changes to existing postal votes 5pm on 26 November 2019
Deadline for receiving new applications to vote by proxy (not postal proxy or emergency proxies) 5pm on 4 December 2019

Election notices

Election timetable
Notice of election - Norwich South
Polling stations -  Norwich South
Statement of persons nominated and Notice of Poll - Norwich South
Appointment of agents - Norwich South

Plan ahead if you can’t get to the polling station

By post: The deadline for us to receive your postal vote application was 5pm on 26 November.

We sent out postal votes on the 22 November to those Norwich South residents who registered for a postal vote by 6 November 2019. Residents who have registered for a postal vote since 7 November 2019, will have their postal vote sent on 3 December 2019.

Norwich North residents should check Broadland District Council’s website for their postal dispatch dates.

Somebody to vote on your behalf: You can also apply for a proxy vote. Deadline for receiving new applications to vote by proxy is 4 December 2019 if you currently vote in person. If you currently have a postal vote, you will need to let us know by 5pm on 26 November.

Related page

Find your polling station