Skip to content Skip to search
My Norwich

Christmas and New Year closure

Published on Thursday, 19th December 2019

The council’s main offices and phone lines will be closed from 4pm on Tuesday 24 December and reopen at 9am on Thursday 2 January 2020.

Important information for customers making payments

There will be delays with posting money to accounts over the closure period (eg customers paying rent, Council Tax, etc). This will mean that any recent payments made will not appear on accounts until the first week of January.

Council tenants

Council tenants who have a heating or hot water emergency on Christmas Day, Boxing Day or New Year's Day can call the out-of-hours number 01603 412180 (for all other times please call Gasway on 01603 258617).

Non-urgent enquiries or issues

Non-urgent issues reported may not be processed until Thursday 2 January 2020.

Waste and recycling collections

Householders in Norwich are reminded that there will be changes to waste and recycling collections in the city over Christmas and New Year. Check your revised collection dates.

Bulky waste: No collections between Wednesday 25 December and Wednesday 1 January 2020.

Garden waste: Suspended between Monday 23 December and Friday 3 January 2020.

Pest control

No service on Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year’s Day.

Tourist Information Centre

Opening and closing times:

  • Tuesday 24 December - 10am to 3pm
  • Wednesday 25 to Sunday 29 December - closed
  • Monday 30 December - 10am to 4pm
  • Tuesday 31 December - 10am to 4pm
  • Wednesday 1 January 2020 - closed

The Norman Centre

The Norman Centre will close at 6pm on Tuesday 24 December and will reopen at 9am on Thursday 2 January 2020.

Riverside Leisure Centre

Please visit the Places Leisure website for opening times over the festive period.

The Halls

The office closes at 5pm on Friday 20 December and will reopen at 9am on Thursday 2 January.

The Halls has a number of pre-booked events planned over the festive period – these will be unaffected by the Christmas closure.

Car parking enforcement

Civil enforcement officers will be patrolling over the festive period so please be aware of on-street parking restrictions (this includes bank holidays).

Any payments or challenges made over the Christmas period may not be visible until after Saturday 4 January 2020.