Skip to content Skip to search
My Norwich
Coronavirus: advice and support

New national restrictions were introduced on Thursday 5 November. Let’s continue to work together to help prevent the spread of the virus and Protect Norwich.

Latest information

Appendix 7 – Local criteria for assessment of locally identified heritage assets

Scoring system for identifying locally listable buildings

A building requires a score of eight or more to be included on the list. Where a building scores maximum points in any one section, this should be referred to in the description. E.g. the school tower is an important landmark within the local area or the building is by the local architect A.F. Scott.


Minor significance
Positive Contribution or group value
Important e.g. focal point



Typical of period
Good example of period
Association with well-known local architect or unusual design



Post 1945
Pre 1840



No archaeological value
Rare remaining example of feature or features dating from before 1700




No importance
Important to local community
Significant event or use


(as seen from public areas)

Altered and not reversible
Extensions are significant but principal part of building remains unaltered
Minor alterations or extension that can be reversed without affecting the character of the building
Original Condition




(1) Townscape Value
Churches and chapels provide the more obvious landmarks which are focal points of the community, however the contribution of other buildings might not be so obvious: for example the location of a shop on the corner of a terrace street might provide a familiar reference point helping to identify a particular area. Buildings that provide a special function within the townscape such as a focal point, landmark or reference point are given three points. Buildings that contribute positively to the townscape, i.e. they contribute something special which helps to define the character of an area, are given two points. Buildings that are ‘in keeping’ with the character of the area are given one point. 
(2) Architectural Value
Buildings are divided into four categories: Some buildings have been designed to be utilitarian i.e. built to perform their function without attempting to be aesthetically pleasing through the adoption of an architectural style or features. These are given zero points. The next category includes buildings that are fairly typical of their period and are given one point. Two points are given to buildings that have attempted to achieve a higher level of aesthetic quality. Lastly three points are awarded to buildings designed by a well-known local or national architect e.g. many Edwardian buildings along Unthank Road are designed by A.F. Scott. 
(3) Historic Value
This criterion judges buildings on the same principles as those applied to statutory listed buildings, although more importance is attached to later buildings (this is simply because many pre-1840 buildings are already statutory listed if they are in anything like their original condition). Although there may be post-war buildings of significance which score zero points for historic value, their significance will be identified by scoring maximum points on architectural value, condition and at least one point on townscape value.
(4) Archaeological Value
This criterion allows for the inclusion of pre-1700 buildings that have been much altered and are therefore not statutorily listable, but retain features such as flintwork or mullion windows etc. that may be of archaeological value. This also includes more recent archaeology, for example wartime installations such as warden posts and bunkers etc.
(5) Community Value
This criterion identifies buildings that may be perceived as valuable to the local community or the city as a whole. Two points are awarded to buildings that may be considered valuable to the local community, such as corner shops, community halls, local pubs etc. Four points are awarded to buildings that have hosted a notable event or had a use that is significant for the city as a whole (e.g. Hillary House on Unthank Road, where Edmund Hillary gave a Christmas Day broadcast to the nation in 1953 following his ascent of Everest). 
(6) Condition (as seen from public views)
Due to the nature of the survey it is not generally possible to ascertain how buildings have been altered at the rear. Buildings that have been altered to the extent that the original appearance of the building cannot be brought back e.g. a front lean-to extension to a terrace house, are given zero points. Buildings that have had significant extensions that are visible, such as a garage, but do not adversely affect the appearance of the principal part of the building are given one point. Minor alterations that can easily be reversed (such as windows or chimney stacks) are given two points. Buildings that appear to be in original condition are given three points.
Group Value 
Where buildings are considered to be a group, such as a street of terrace houses or semi-detached houses, the group should be considered together (in the same way that statutory listed buildings are sometimes considered for their group value.) An appropriate percentage of the group (for example 80%) should retain the majority of their original features.