Skip to content Skip to search
My Norwich


Devolution is the redistribution of power and funding from national to local government.

Local authorities in Norfolk, Suffolk, Cambridgeshire and Peterborough were granted an outline devolution deal for East Anglia in March 2016. Following negotiations with central government, two separate deals were on the table for combined authorities – one covering Norfolk and Suffolk another for Cambridgeshire and Peterborough.

The proposed combined authority would makes decisions affecting the whole area, along with the New Anglia Local Enterprise Partnership. An elected mayor would chair the authority and, together with the council representatives, make decisions about planning, transport and jobs.

Four councils in Norfolk – Norwich City, Breckland, North Norfolk and Yarmouth Borough – has voted not to continue with the process, while the remaining councils have voted in favour of the proposed deal.

A consultation process has been carried out across Norfolk, although with those councils which voted against the deal not taking part. This closed on 19 August 2016 and the results were fed back to the Secretary of State, who will decide if devolution should go ahead.