Skip to content Skip to search
My Norwich

Council tenancies

Types of tenancy

Introductory – given to new tenants for a trial period (usually a year) and provides limited rights.

Secure – gives tenants considerable rights.

Demoted – a secure tenancy may be ended by a court order for some kinds of antisocial behaviour and replaced with a demoted tenancy for a year. It provides less security and fewer rights than a secure tenancy.

Non-secure – offers fewer rights and less protection than other types of tenancy. This is only given in exceptional circumstances (eg when providing temporary accommodation to people who are homeless).

Joint – named tenants share equal responsibility for the tenancy.

All of the above tenancies operate according to UK law and the council cannot choose to set up an individual tenancy outside of this legislation.

Feedback button
Feedback button